Female Mountaineer needed to answers some Qs from 10-11 year olds

Hello Women of NLMC

I’ve had the following lovely request come through from a London school. Can anyone help? I fear my COVID cough would scare the kids at the moment, and I’ve always been more of a rock climber than a mountaineer.

My name is Brigid Shine, I am a Geography teacher at Channing Junior School in North London. This term with my Y6 classes our topic is Mountains! My students and I are very disappointed that due to Coronavirus we are unable to go on a field trip to learn about mountains for ourselves! We have planned to use our school’s virtual reality goggles to experience Everest. However we would also LOVE to learn from an experienced female mountaineer and expert in the field through a Zoom workshop/Q&A with you. Is this something that you offer/would be interested in hosting? Our lessons take place on Monday at 11.30 - 12.30 UK time but we are happy to be flexible with time depending on what might suit you.

Our proposed dates for the Q&A would be:

• Monday 23rd November
  • Monday 30th November
  • Monday 7th December

My email is jsupply@channing.co.uk and myself and my students would be so thrilled to hear from you. Should you have any questions, don’t hesitate to let me know.

Best,

Brigid

1 Like

Have you asked Yvonne? I’m not so much a mountains perso but I could do it if you really needed.

2 Likes

That would be wonderful, @coffeepot … let me ask Yvonne :wink: and if she doesn’t fancy it, you would be terrific.

Yvonne @ypsell - would you be interested?

It’s such a sweet request, that I’d to see someone from the Club help them if possible… and I’ll post out a cupcake to whoever takes this on! :slight_smile:

sure, why not? Shall I just reply directly Brigid? Please no cupcakes!! I’m already baking far too much and its not even Christmas time yet!

3 Likes

Surplus cupcakes can be sent to me, no questions asked

2 Likes